top of page

Introducing D:CON 4

D:CON 4 is the name of our little group made in Design Studio 3 where Mr David Yak was the lecturer in charge of us. He gave us the assignment to create a website to showcase our works and design process, which would act as an online portfolio. These are some of the questions we were instructed to ponder about.

WHAT YOU ASPIRE TO ACHIEVE IN D:CON 4?

What i would like to see from myself is personal growth, where I would continue to strive to be better from every semester. My goal is to open my mind, instead of being constricted by traditional views in terms of design, where i would find my own unique style. To be able to produce works that I am proud of, still having my personal touch whilst listening to my lecturers critiques, to expend my creativity and not forget the basis of the assignment given. To also expand my knowledge on ways to tackle certain issues in design.

WHAT ARE THE INGREDIENTS YOU THINK WILL CONTRIBUTE TO D:CON 4?

If everyone gives feed backs to their peers, may it be good or bad, students will be able to help one another grow and expand their thinking. It's important for peers to help one another as we are all at the same stage in our studies and helping each other improve will lighten the stress already faced.

Its also important that each student is given adequate consultation time with the lecturer so that no one will be missed out and everyone will be able to improve from their previous design.

TELL US SOMETHING ABOUT YOU, THINGS THAT MADE YOU.

As i entered into architecture school, my love and interest for architecture grew more and more. As a kid, I would be fascinated when my father brought me to site visits as he was in charge of dealing with authorities. My father studied architecture too, and he was surprised when I told him I wanted to study architecture as he did not foresee any of his children taking such a stressful course he know so well of. I have always had the same interests with my father, we both love photography and nature thus it wasn't much a surprise to my other family members when i wanted to enroll into architecture school. The more I learn in school about design and architecture itself, the greater appreciation I have for each and every building, being able to see the beauty in buildings a different way.

HOW WOULD YOU CONSTRUE THE CURRENT ASSIGNMENT IN D:CON4?

One word, intimidating. We were instructed to translate a story from Kathigasu's famous testimony, Faces of Courage, and create an installation from scenes of the book. We were told to use deconstructionism as a form of translating her pain, her courage and her determination, into our art piece. To me it's challenging as I have been so used to modeling boards to create models, that the idea of using other materials such as steel plates and timber boards to create an installation honoring Ms Sybil Kathigasu's heroism intimidates me, in fear of not being able to honor her. As I have finished her book, it truly is amazing how such a courageous woman was able to stay determined and had a strong will till the end with the grace of God by her side. I only hope to bring honor to her through my art piece, to show how much I appreciate what she has done to our country.

bottom of page